What do I do with my blog at the end of the semester?

Whatever you plan to do with your blog in the future, please make sure it stays public until you get your final grade from the university. I need to be able to access it to complete your final grades. After that, here are some options…

1. “I’m done with it, but I might want to use it as a sample of my work.”

Great. Write a final farewell post letting your readers know you are done – or are at least taking a break for a while. Link to some of your best posts so they can see your “greatest hits.” You can leave your blog where it is. You can link to it or to specific posts that you are particularly proud of for internship and job applications.

2. “I don’t like my blog. I’m done with it. I don’t want anyone to see it.”

That’s fine. Really. This project wasn’t about doing everything perfect the first time. It is about trying something new and learning from the process.

However, DO NOT DELETE your blog right now. It has all of your work for the semester. Many things could happen in the coming weeks. My computer could crash. I could lose my grade book. The school could lose your grade. You could decide to challenge your grade. Or you may change your mind and decide to pick up your blog again. So don’t delete it.

Again, please make sure it stays public until you get your final grade. After that, you can password protect it. For instructions, see the instructions for Making Your Blog Private.

When you are sure you want to get rid of your blog, you can delete it. Here areinstructions for how to delete your blog. If you delete a blog you will not be able to get it back. So don’t delete it until you are absolutely sure you want to eliminate your blog.

3. “I love my blog. I want to continue it.”

Good. Write your final post for the class letting your readers you are going to continue. Link to some of your best posts so they can see your “greatest hits.” Then go for it. Give yourself assignments. Grow your audience. Make your blog what you want it to be.

4. “I might continue. I might start a new one someday. But either way I’m ready to move beyond WordPress.com.”

Fine. You have options.

Experiment with other platforms.

You can purchase a Word Press upgrade starting at $15 a year. There are various options to fit different needs – domain names, more space, upload audio and video directly, etc. Carefully research them before you spend the money.

Or I suggest you move your blog to your own Web host (costs about $5 to $7 a month) and use WordPress.org — that’s .ORG — which is different from WordPress.com. This is a good option if you want the experience of building/modifying a website. You can learn more about HTML, CSS, etc.(See What’s the difference between WordPress.com and WordPress.org)

About Nick DiUlio

My name is Nick DiUlio, a freelance writer and editor from New Jersey. I have been passionate about the craft of writing since I was old enough to spell, and this love has led to a successful career in journalism and creative nonfiction. As a freelancer, I have covered a wide range of topics and personalities, as my published work has focused on everything from profiles of artists and important political figures to hard-news stories with both national and local appeal; from restaurant and beverage reviews to tips on fashion and finance; from health and wellness pieces to celebrity Q&A’s. My work has appeared in several local, regional and national publications—both in print and online—including Philadelphia Magazine, Slate.com, Miller-McCune, New Jersey Monthly, Eating Well, and Delaware Today. Additionally, I am the South Jersey Bureau Chief for New Jersey Monthly and an adjunct journalism professor at Rowan University. To be sure, the broadness of my body of work seems only to be matched by my boundless interest in almost every subject imaginable (except Warren Zevon). Check out some of my most recently published work here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What do I do with my blog at the end of the semester?

  1. Pingback: This Week | Southern Accents

Leave a Reply

