General Suggestions from Posts So Far

1. Run spell and grammar check.

2. Capitalization
Review AP style – In general, avoid capitalization. Use a capital letter only if you can justify it – like proper nouns (specific person, place, or thing), compositions (books, movies, plays, poems, etc), first word in sentence, or formal titles.

3. Numbers and numerals
Review AP style – In general, spell out whole numbers below 10 (ie one to nine), use figures for 10 and above. Check AP manual for money and sports numbers.

4. Ages and hyphens
Example: 20-year-old Jim vs. Jim is 20 years old

5. Commas

-In a series
Example: “red, white and blue”

-Parenthetic expressions
Example: “The best way to see the boardwalk, unless you are in a hurry, is in a surrey with a fringe on top.”

-Before a conjunction introducing an independent clause
Example: “I have lived in New Jersey my entire life, and I think it’s the best place to be.”

6. Word usage

it’s vs. its
their vs. they’re
your vs. you’re
effect vs. affect

7. Punctuation always goes inside quotes.

8. Link. Link. Link. And make sure your links work and are formatted properly.

9. Put images at the top of your post. It draws the reader in.

10. Formatting quotes

Example:

Jane felt like the luckiest girl alive when she smiled and with a glimmer in her eye told me, “This is the best day of my life. I think I finally found true love. I feel like a million bucks.”

vs.

“This is the best day of my life,” said Jane. “I think I finally found true love. I feel like a million bucks.”

About Nick DiUlio

My name is Nick DiUlio, a freelance writer and editor from New Jersey. I have been passionate about the craft of writing since I was old enough to spell, and this love has led to a successful career in journalism and creative nonfiction. As a freelancer, I have covered a wide range of topics and personalities, as my published work has focused on everything from profiles of artists and important political figures to hard-news stories with both national and local appeal; from restaurant and beverage reviews to tips on fashion and finance; from health and wellness pieces to celebrity Q&A’s. My work has appeared in several local, regional and national publications—both in print and online—including Philadelphia Magazine, Slate.com, Miller-McCune, New Jersey Monthly, Eating Well, and Delaware Today. Additionally, I am the South Jersey Bureau Chief for New Jersey Monthly and an adjunct journalism professor at Rowan University. To be sure, the broadness of my body of work seems only to be matched by my boundless interest in almost every subject imaginable (except Warren Zevon). Check out some of my most recently published work here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to General Suggestions from Posts So Far

  1. Pingback: Week 6 | Southern Accents

  2. Pingback: Week 7 | Southern Accents

  3. Pingback: Week 7 | glsjournalism

  4. Pingback: Week 6 | Southern Accents

  5. Pingback: Week 8 | glsjournalism

  6. Pingback: Week 7 | Southern Accents

  7. Pingback: Week 6—Oct. 9 & 11 | Southern Accents

Leave a Reply

